Skip to content

Collaboration

May 31, 2009

A few years back I realized I needed to see my family hanging on the walls of my living space.

Pictures of them of course, not literally. Wow, that would be an interesting twist now that I imagine that… but quite a challenge. So anyway, I didn’t want the usual portraits of my mom, dad, brother, etc… so I decided to project some old slides on a large wall of my studio and re-photograph them with some tilt and shift action on neg film, then print them using some darkroom trickery – the way I print my black and white images.

My dad enjoyed photography and we still have most of the slides he took from the mid 1950’s to the mid 1970’s. These are my interpretations of his original slides. It feels rich to collaborate with him in this way. I don’t remember if I ever got to show him these prints before he passed.

mom_coastA

grandpa and brother

aunt nita

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 3:08 am

    Wow. What a great idea. I love alternative processes like this. The result is beautiful.

    Like

  2. October 19, 2011 1:20 pm

    I love these. Your mom looks so glamourous.

    Like

Leave a Reply

