Skip to content

thinking

July 10, 2009

Been thinking a lot lately. Visually. Sometimes I need to just sit and think, and daydream. It takes time. That’s why road trips are great…plenty of time to sit and let the mind drift, inspired by the road, the music pumping through my speakers, snippets of scenes passing me by. I’m long overdue for a road trip.

F1_spaghetti_frontLAYERS

I just shot some self promo pieces that I’ll be mailing out soon. All three involve a plate of spaghetti. And since I shot these 3 images with ambient light I started daydreaming some more – about light and how it affects color. Damn. Then I started thinking about the color of my dreams, and could I reproduce any of my dreams in a photograph? I’ve had some doozies, let me tell you. Then I started thinking about the books I’m reading now and the books I’ve read. I’d like to find people who look like the main characters (as I imagine them) from these books, and shoot their portraits.

I think it’s time to stop thinking and start shooting some more.

Speaking of visual inspirations, has anyone seen the David Lynch show at the Michael Kohn Gallery? I haven’t yet, but I think I’d better.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

