Skip to content

the creative appetite

November 11, 2010

I’ve not been so successful at posting an image a day or per week. Perhaps too lofty a goal right out of the starting gate of my new social media commitment. I’ve got a backlog of photos to share, but then I wonder what order shall I show them in? Which to show? Should I categorize them?  Does each post on my blog require an image? “No” is my answer this evening.

One thing I love about making images is the process. Part of the process is receiving inspiration. Noticing inspiration. Being aware. Then there’s processing that inspiration. Mentally processing my translation, my feelings about that inspiration. Then maybe whatever that inspiration was; another photo, a poem, a painting, a story, a magazine spread, a film, a song, the attitude of a rock star, the stillness of a tree, the memory of something from my childhood – whatever it is might influence the next image I capture in my camera.  I like that.

Sometimes I’m hungry for inspiration.  Books, magazines, videos and movies – I want to taste them all. Other times I don’t want to see any other images. I don’t want to open myself up to outside influences.

This week I’ve been starving. I’ve been looking through magazines, surfing online for images and ideas from Henri Cartier-Bresson, Paolo Roversi, Irving Penn, Diane Arbus, John Berger, John Singer Sargent, and on and on. . . I’ve been watching youtube videos of Bjork, The White Stripes, The Kills, P.J. Harvey, Jim Jarmusch, Wim Wenders and on and on . . .  I get so excited to create something. It’s a physical reaction.

Now the question is, “What shall I create next?”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

