Skip to content

Daily Portrait

January 4, 2011

I’m declaring to you all out there in internet space land – I will take a portrait a day with my new, handy dandy point and shoot (with full manual option, I must add).

There are no rules, no rules except I must capture one portrait each day. It’s an exercise. It’s a sketchbook. It’s good for my brain. If I encounter no other humans during the course of my day I will resort to a self-portrait, or perhaps a willing dog or cat who crosses my path. I have a roommate and she has a dog so I’m sure they’ll be frequenting my dailies. Let’s take today for example – as the day’s light was waning I remembered I’m supposed to take a portrait. My poor roommate is in bed with the flu. Ha! Good for me, a wounded and immobile subject. Bad for her, she cannot flee. This reminds me of something I saw on Animal Planet.

I am kind. No one wants their picture taken when they’re sick. I kept my distance with my zoom zoomed and used a high ISO in the low light bedroom. The resulting image reminds me of something Gerhard Richter would paint. Not my usual style of shooting but that’s the point of this daily exercise – to break free and to play.

Melissa watching Helvetica while sick in bed.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 9:20 pm

    At least the sheets look clean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

