Skip to content

Dear Women,

March 28, 2011

Dear Women,

Doesn’t it feel good to feel good?   What I mean is, that confident feeling you have on the inside when your mood reflects how you look and how you look reflects your mood?   I love photographing women when I can see that they’re embodying something they admire. Whether she’s wearing a silk wedding gown or a sexy, vintage slip, these items of clothing can inspire her mood, her confidence, and her imagination.

Fellow women, I encourage you to find that fashionable piece of clothing, that favorite dress, scarf, robe, hat, coat or lingerie that when you put it on you’re channeling Monica Vitti, Louise Brooks, or Chrissie Hynde, (yes I’m inspired by certain rock stars); then call me up and let’s create some photographs that you’ll love . . . of yourself.  What is it that makes you feel solid, beautiful and confident?  I’d like to know!

It’s empowering to have an image of yourself that you love; an image of yourself that you want to show other people – without an ounce of conceit just a refreshing ton of warranted self-love.

Sincerely,

Sue

P.S. These are some images I took of women showing that feeling, that mood I’m talking about…

P.P.S.  Before I press “publish” I must add: This letter is for men too. I do not discriminate. How I’d love to photograph a man in suit and tie, in a tee shirt and Levis, or in Cary Grant’s robe. C’mon men, owning a portrait you love isn’t just for women.

camille de pedrini wedding gown

Nadine Velazquez

Rosamund Pike

Rosamund Pike

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

