Skip to content

Paris (not Hilton)

May 15, 2011

I’ve been thinking about Paris lately. I’m having little cravings to walk down the back alley to get a fresh baguette in the morning and toast slices of it topped with apricot jam along with a tasse de cafe. I think it’s the weather. It rained a bit last night leaving this morning with a clean crispness that doesn’t visit Los Angeles very often. Big puffy, white clouds, blue sky and a bit of wind. I’ve only been to Paris once.  I stayed in the 6th, on the Seine, on the Rue des Grands Augustins for one month. The weather was crisp, cold and gorgeous. Everything tasted good. All the walking felt good. The sounds kept my mind busy. The lights from the tour boats that shined up into my apartment at night cast shadows that travelled across the cumin colored walls and lulled me to a calm state of mind as I unwound from day after day of visual stimulation…translation…inspiration…

When I returned home from that trip I had rolls of 35mm to develop and print. Lots of images of everywhere I had been, but I wasn’t in any of the pictures. So I took some self-portraits and then made prints from sandwiching the negatives from my trip with my self-portraits. Voila, I’m in Paris again. Though it is only my memory of it.

This was 20 years ago. I can’t believe it’s possible that I’m 20 years older than the me that went then. Can’t be true.

self portrait at the Centre George Pompidou

Le Tour d’Eiffel in my forehead.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

