Skip to content

First Day of Summer

June 21, 2011

. . . and so, after hours of close range viewing, working in Photoshop for most of the day, I decided I needed to let my eyes zoom out and go for a hike before the sun set. This is the day that the earth’s axis is most tilted toward the sun – naturally, I was pulled to go say hello.  I hiked in an area where the city has bled into nature. The trail is sidelined with graffiti and flowers, bushes, rocks, lizards, etc… At 6:45pm the sun’s heat was still hot on my skin. I looked for summer. I found summer. The bees, flies and ants were all very busy. The lizards were scurrying into the bushes as I walked by. The birds were doing their thing. And a snake stopped right in front of me. I said, “Hey Snake, what kind of snake are you?”. He paused and let me take a couple of pictures of him. Then I said, “Hey Snake, can I go past you now?”  He then slithered to the other side.  I know, I sound like a freaky, nature girl talking to animals; but I’m just telling you what really happened.

I’m not for graffiti in nature. Leave rocks alone. But secretly, I was happy to see my name on a rock, tucked into the yellow flowers on the hillside. But please all you outdoor artists, please leave nature natural.

My hike ended facing the sun. I smiled at it. Thanked it for its hotness. Blew it a kiss. Wiped the sweat from my brow and hit the road.

It was a good first day of summer.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    June 21, 2011 10:44 pm

    I enjoyed your walk. Happy summer my friend!!! xox P

    Like

Leave a Reply

