Skip to content

Compare and Contrast

August 16, 2011

I moved from Los Angeles to Maui last week.  All at once I miss my family and friends in So. California yet I also feel really good about where I am; my new home. Someone recently told me, as I was teary-eyed saying goodbye to friends in Los Angeles, that one doesn’t have to hate a place to leave it. It’s better to embrace the good and what one loves about a place and bring that love to the next place. I have my work cut out for me with getting new work and new clients while making friends with the island, and with it’s people. It’s all about relationships, whether it’s with business or pleasure or with oneself; building healthy, lasting, relationships takes time. So far, the people I’ve met here, and the reputation of this place is that “story” matters. People want to talk “story” before business. I appreciate this approach because it helps get past the rush of superficial exchange that often happens in the world of a faster paced, crowded culture. A little time is spent to see, “what is this person about?”.   I’m aware that there’s pluses and minuses and in-betweens to everything. Right now I’m focused on the pluses and thankful for them. There’s an underlying tension that has lifted from my shoulders – a smog that’s cleared from my mind…  I’m smiling at this new adventure of mine.

Maui Traffic / Los Angeles Traffic

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 2:01 pm

    Sue
    I loved reading through your blog from when you arrived in maui to today. It seems like you’ve gone through a transformation. Thanks for sharing this. I feel like I’m vicariously enjoying your change.

    Like

Leave a Reply

