Skip to content

Pete Cabrinha: Surf and Mixed Media

August 29, 2011

A friend of mine suggested I take a look at Pete Cabrinha’s artwork now that I’m living on Maui. Though I admire the beauty, power and total friggin’ awesomeness of those who surf and are able to make gliding on rolling water look elegant, I am not familiar with the athletes who have this amazing command and relationship with the mighty ocean. So I was a bit embarrassed when I didn’t recognize Cabrinha’s name – my friend paused after saying it, expecting a reaction, and that’s when I realized I was out of it.  Now I know that along with an award winning surfing, windsurfing and kitesurfing career, Cabrinha has a lovely creative side using mixed media that includes photography. See http://www.cabrinha.com.  I like the Ho’okipa piece, the golden colored laughing couple done in acrylic, the mixed media piece with 3 hula dancers and the photo collage with 3 vertical vintage images of a surfer.

Those pieces inspire me to re-visit and perhaps create more old school photo montages of my own. (See below. No photoshop, all darkroom sandwiching and layering.) I’m also in the mood to look at some Robert Rauschenberg and Sigmar Polke.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

