Skip to content

I Wish I Shot That

August 30, 2011

I’m doing image research for a portrait class I’ll be teaching and I feel like something is wrong with me!  I’m okay, but dang, some images move me to tears they’re so beautifully evocative.

Below are two examples by Imogen Cunningham that I find powerful in their tenderness.  Cunningham had a long career, taking pictures up until 1976, the year she passed. She was 93 years old.

The young woman is Aiko. I’m not sure if she’s the daughter of Ruth Asawa who was friends with Cunningham. Do any of you know who Aiko is?  It’s such a simple but rich portrait.

The couple is Edward Weston and Margrethe Mather. There’s a series of images Cunningham took of them that feel like a pushing and pulling of their romantic and creative relationship.

Okay, back to work; but I had to share.

Aiko, 1971 by Imogen Cunningham

Edward Weston and Margrethe Mather 1922, by Imogen Cunningham

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

