Skip to content

Whirlybird

February 25, 2013

After a shoot  I’m always anxious to share my new images –  but I have to wait until the story is published. It’s challenging to wait a month, sometimes two months, before I can post them!  This Friday, the March/April environmental issue of Maui No Ka ‘Oi Magazine hits the stands. I’m super excited to have shot two spreads for the issue: the fashion story shot on the beautiful grounds of Lumeria, and the environmental heroes story that includes five portraits of five important people on Maui who are all wonderful stewards of our land and water through preservation, education, and a passion for maintaining and improving this beautiful island we call home.

I thoroughly enjoyed working on these two, very different assignments.  For now I’ll tease you with one image that’s not being published from the Pu’u Kukui Watershed Preserve where I photographed one of the “heroes”, Pomaika’i Kaniaupio-Crozier, the manager of the preserve. I tagged along for the day’s hike through the preserve as he and his crew took notes of any changes in the plant and animal life along the way. We took a short helicopter ride to the summit, my first chopper experience, and I loved it!  Just after getting out, I turned around and shot this image . . .

(Stay tuned, more to come in a few days…)

watershed_blog37

One Comment leave one →
  1. cool coyote permalink
    March 1, 2013 8:41 am

    Now you know how awesome it is to be checked out on the whirleybird.

    Like

Leave a Reply

