Skip to content

Daydreams

March 20, 2014

I’m in the process of updating my website which means going through a bazillion folders of images and pulling the ones that move me. The majority of images are from new shoots, but I’m re-visiting some I haven’t looked at in awhile. This process is showing me how time helps refresh my eyes. I’m also reminded of how important it is to show images that truly reflect the kinds of assignments I’d like to be hired to shoot. What a mind game it is, to try and cater one’s portfolio and website for this or that kind of person, opting to show the image that seems like the safe bet, the one most people will find “nice” or “beautiful”. Over and over I’m learning how to listen to my opinion. I need to listen to my style. I’ve been hearing this since I was an art major in college eons ago. Β What makes the way I frame a scene interesting, unique or hopefully inspires the viewer to feel something more than, “Oh, that’s a nice photo.” If it’s a portrait, I hope I’m able to create images that make people curious about who the people are in my photos. If it’s a landscape, I hope I’m able to inspire the viewer to daydream, just for a moment.

SueHudelson_clare_blog4854 SueHudelson_JTree_road_blog

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2014 6:57 am

    After a few years of wandering aimlessly through the photography world, I’m finally starting to listen to my style (which requires even knowing what my style is in the first place; a behemoth task all on its own). I’m in the process of putting a new portfolio up online, and it’s a work in progress, because I went through all of my old photos and picked out far too many of the ones I liked best, and once they’re all uploaded, I’m going to go through them and be as lovingly critical as I can about which ones actually exemplify me and what I want my work to represent.

    Also, LOVE that photo of the Joshua tree…I just went to Joshua Tree National Park for the first time a few weeks ago and it was gorgeous.

    Like

  2. April 12, 2014 4:21 pm

    Rachel,
    So sorry for my delayed reply. Yes, editing through many images is an adventure. Sounds like you’re on your way to having showing a body of work that represents your vision well. Joshua Tree is a magical place. It’s definitely one of those places that helps me push the “reset” button.
    Thank you for visiting my blog and happy shooting!
    Sue

    Like

Leave a Reply

