Skip to content

A Song on the Beach

April 16, 2014

So this guy is a journalist, poet, songwriter and playwright. He traveled on the Hokule’a (look it up – amazing) and wrote a book about the voyage in three languages, and he’s produced television documentaries. I’m sure I’m leaving out a bunch of other admirable “done thats” from the list. When I was assigned to shoot the story about Gary Kubota and The Legend of Ko’olau, the play he wrote, I asked him where he goes to unwind because that’s where I’d like to take his portrait. He told me the spot and said to meet him there at 7am. When I got there, he was fully equipped with his ukelele, harmonica, surfboard and a small folding seat he could use while he played. “Right on!” I said to myself, “This guy brings props!”.  It was a beautiful, calm morning where he likes to surf, unwind and play ballads. The bonus was he played and sang as I shot. What a great environment to work in. Check out the story in this month’s Hana Hou! Magazine.

garykubota_blog

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

