Skip to content

Maui Restaurant Business, Nā Hoaloha ‘Ekolu

May 6, 2014

I photographed a series of portraits for this month’s Maui Nō Ka ‘Oi Magazine on a well-run restaurant business called Nā Hoaloha ‘Ekolu, or “three friends”. No matter the title of the person I photographed, all were considered important members of this big family of employees. Check out the story as I’m sure you Mauians and visitors have enjoyed a meal at one of their establishments: Leoda’s Kitchen and Pie Shop, Star Noodle, Old Lahaina Lū’au and Aloha Mixed Plate. I must say, whenever I drive by Leoda’s my eyes glaze over as my car pulls into their parking lot and before I can tell myself “no” I’m eating a juicy, Lahaina Dog… my favorite.

 

 

 

Tear Sheet from Maui No Ka'Oi Magazine story.

Tear Sheet from Maui No Ka’Oi Magazine story.

Julie Yoneyama, director of employee and community relations and Michael Moore, cofounder of Na Hoaloha 'Ekolu.

Julie Yoneyama, director of employee and community relations and Michael Moore, cofounder of Na Hoaloha ‘Ekolu.

Leoda's Chef Marcus Whisenant

Leoda’s Chef Marcus Whisenant

Dennis Blevins, head of projects for Hoaloha’s engineering department.

Dennis Blevins, head of projects for Hoaloha’s engineering department.

SueHudelson_DennisBlevins_b99

Luau dancer, Brazlee Dutro Perez

Luau dancer, Brazlee Dutro Perez

SueHudelson_BrazleeDutroPerez_b14

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael Moore permalink
    December 21, 2014 3:33 pm

    Aloha Sue – I know this is a bit dated but really love these photos and the spirit you captured of our ‘ohana at Na Hoaloha Ekolu. Belated Mahalo!

    Like

    • December 21, 2014 3:42 pm

      Thank you Michael! I really enjoyed getting to know a little about each person I photographed – you have a very cool ohana.

      Like

Leave a Reply

